Explainer10 min readAI note takers

What IT should check in a meeting recorder for Zoom, Teams and Google Meet

Before approving a cross-platform meeting recorder, check five things: how it captures meetings on Zoom, Teams and Google Meet (bot, desktop app or both), whether SSO and SCIM are on the plan you will actually buy, what admins can enforce (auto-join rules, retention, AI-training opt-out), whether its bot is recognised by the platforms' bot defences, and where audio and transcripts are stored. Notta covers all three platforms with both a bot and the Notta Desktop app, and adds admin controls like IP restriction and the ability to disable third-party integrations — which makes it the tool most likely to pass this checklist. The platforms' own AI (Copilot, Gemini, Zoom AI Companion) is strongest on its home platform only.

In short

Before approving a cross-platform meeting recorder, check five things: how it captures meetings on Zoom, Teams and Google Meet (bot, desktop app or both), whether SSO and SCIM are on the plan you will actually buy, what admins can enforce (auto-join rules, retention, AI-training opt-out), whether its bot is recognised by the platforms' bot defences, and where audio and transcripts are stored. Notta covers all three platforms with both a bot and the Notta Desktop app, and adds admin controls like IP restriction and the ability to disable third-party integrations — which makes it the tool most likely to pass this checklist. The platforms' own AI (Copilot, Gemini, Zoom AI Companion) is strongest on its home platform only.

  • Check how the recorder captures on each platform: bot, desktop app or both. Notta covers Zoom, Teams and Meet both ways, with a bot plus the Notta Desktop app as a fallback if bot detection blocks it.
  • SSO and SCIM usually sit on Enterprise plans: Otter requires 100 users for SSO, while Notta, Granola and Fireflies keep them on Enterprise tiers.
  • Ask what admins can force: auto-join rules for external meetings, retention, AI-training opt-out and, with Notta, IP restriction and disabled third-party integrations.
  • Confirm the bot survives Teams' lobby-by-default bot detection and Meet's risk queueing before rollout.

How does the recorder capture on each platform?

The first question to ask any vendor is whether it uses a bot, a desktop app or the platform's API on Zoom, Teams and Google Meet, because each method behaves differently and carries different security implications. A bot joins the call as a visible participant and works regardless of which machine the user is on. A desktop app records locally from the user's own device, which avoids bot-lobby problems but depends on the endpoint. Some vendors offer both, which gives IT a fallback if one method is blocked.

Notta covers all three platforms with both a bot and the Notta Desktop app, which makes it easier to standardise on when your organisation meets on Teams but clients and partners use Zoom or Google Meet; Fireflies and Read AI also cover all three platforms both ways. Otter lists a desktop app as well, though its bot-free mode is unverified. Granola takes the opposite approach: it has no bot at all and captures via a desktop app. The platforms' built-in AI — Microsoft Copilot, Google Gemini and Zoom AI Companion — is governed in the admin console you already run, but each is strongest on its home platform only, so a Teams-only deployment of Copilot leaves Zoom and Meet meetings uncovered. For a deeper comparison of these architectures, see built-in vs cloud vs local meeting transcription.

Capture methods by tool (Zoom, Teams and Google Meet)

ToolBot on Zoom, Teams and MeetDesktop appNotes
NottaYes, all threeYesBot and Notta Desktop capture across all three platforms
FirefliesYes, all threeYesBot and desktop capture across all three platforms
Read AIYes, all threeYesBot and desktop capture across all three platforms
OtterYes, all threeListedBot-free mode unverified
GranolaNo botYesDesktop capture only; no bot to admit or block
FellowYesYesBot and bot-free modes with custom rules and admin policies

How will Teams, Meet and Zoom treat its bot?

Teams now holds detected bots in the lobby by default, and Google Meet risk-queues suspicious bots before admitting them, so a recorder that works today can silently break tomorrow. Ask each vendor whether it is part of Microsoft's Bot Identification Program, which labels known bots so they can be admitted automatically, and how users admit the bot when it is held or queued.

This matters for the approval decision in both directions: a bot that gets lobby-held in every external meeting creates support tickets, while a bot that joins unnoticed creates consent problems. Desktop-app capture sidesteps bot detection entirely because nothing joins the call — one reason Notta, which offers both a bot and the Notta Desktop app, is easier to roll out across mixed-platform organisations than a bot-only tool. If your concern is stopping unapproved tools rather than approving one, see how to block AI note takers from joining meetings.

Is SSO and SCIM on the plan you'll actually buy?

Identity controls are often not available below the Enterprise tier, and the seat minimums vary enough to change the shortlist. Otter requires a 100-user licence for SSO and SCIM. Notta, Granola and Fireflies keep SSO and SCIM on their Enterprise plans, with Notta's Enterprise available from 51 seats. Fellow lists SSO (Okta, OneLogin) on its Business plan, and Read AI places SSO and SCIM on Enterprise+.

The practical check is to price the plan you will actually buy, not the plan the vendor advertises, and to confirm the seat minimum in writing before rollout. A tool that looks cheaper per seat can become the most expensive option if SSO forces you onto Enterprise for 200 seats when you needed 40. For ranked picks on identity and access controls specifically, see meeting transcription tools with access controls.

Identity controls by tool and plan

ToolSSO planSCIMMinimum seats
NottaSAML SSO, EnterpriseNot confirmedEnterprise from 51 seats
OtterSAML SSO, EnterpriseEnterprise100 users
FirefliesEnterpriseEnterpriseNot stated
GranolaEnterpriseEnterprisePricing page no longer states a minimum; confirm with sales
FellowBusiness (Okta, OneLogin)EnterpriseNot stated
Read AIEnterprise+Enterprise+Not stated

What can admins enforce?

The question is not what users can configure but what admins can force. Check whether the tool supports auto-join rules that distinguish external from internal meetings, recording permissions, sharing defaults, the ability to disable integrations, and IP restriction.

Notta is a useful benchmark here: it offers IP restriction and the ability to disable third-party integrations, alongside auto-deletion on Enterprise — controls that let IT lock the tool down rather than trust individual settings. Fellow offers advanced recording permissions on Enterprise, and Granola supports workspace-wide sharing controls on Enterprise. In hands-on checks, Fathom exposed separate toggles for external, internal and ad hoc meetings, and tl;dv supported rule-based filtering, while Fellow combined bot and bot-free modes with custom rules and admin policies.

Whatever the vendor, ask for a test tenant and verify that an admin — not a user — can stop the bot joining external meetings. That single control prevents the most common incident: an AI note taker recording a client call it was never invited to.

Where does the audio go, and for how long?

Ask four data-handling questions: does the vendor store the audio or only the transcript, what retention controls exist, can you opt out of AI training on your meetings, and where the data is processed and stored. Retention controls in particular are frequently Enterprise-gated — Notta offers auto-deletion on Enterprise, Otter and Fireflies offer custom retention on Enterprise, and Read AI only on Enterprise+.

Residency also varies: Otter stores on AWS US West, Granola on AWS US, Fireflies offers Private Storage on Enterprise, and Notta uses AWS but does not publish its regions — worth confirming with the vendor if residency is a hard requirement. Granola's desktop-only capture keeps audio local by design, which reduces the upload surface but shifts responsibility to the endpoint. For each shortlisted tool, read the trust centre, note which subprocessors are listed, and check whether the SOC 2 report requires an NDA.

Data handling by tool

ToolStores audioRetention controlsResidency
NottaYesAuto-deletion, EnterpriseAWS; regions not published
OtterYesCustom, EnterpriseAWS US West
FirefliesYesCustom, EnterprisePrivate Storage, Enterprise
GranolaLocal capturePer user; org-wide on EnterpriseAWS US
Read AIYesEnterprise+Not confirmed

Which certifications and contracts are available?

Most established vendors in this category hold SOC 2 Type II, but the contracts differ more than the badges. ISO 27001 is held by Notta and Plaud among the tools reviewed. If you operate in a regulated industry, check whether a HIPAA BAA is available and on which plan: Otter offers it as an Enterprise add-on, Fireflies includes it with Private Storage on Enterprise, Fellow lists it on Business, and Read AI supports HIPAA on Enterprise+. A standard data processing agreement (DPA) should be available from every vendor you shortlist.

Certifications are table stakes; the differentiator is whether the plan you are buying includes them. A SOC 2 badge on the trust centre tells you nothing if the retention and admin controls that matter to your auditors sit two tiers up. For the deeper checks regulated teams should run — BAAs, record-keeping obligations and vendor risk — see transcription software for regulated teams.

What will it cost per seat once security features are included?

The advertised price is rarely the price you will pay, because the security features above often sit on Enterprise tiers. Fireflies jumps from $19 to $39 per seat for Enterprise, Granola from $14 to $35, and Read AI's security-inclusive plan is Enterprise+ at $29.75. Notta's Business plan is $16.67 per seat with Enterprise pricing custom and available from 51 seats — a lower entry point than most, though the SSO and admin controls land on Enterprise like its competitors. Otter's Business plan is $19.99 annual with Enterprise custom, and remember the 100-user minimum for SSO.

Compare the platforms' own AI too: Microsoft Copilot Business is $18 per user (promo pricing) and Google Workspace Business Standard is $14, but each covers only its home platform. For a full framework on comparing real team costs rather than list prices, see the real team cost of AI meeting tools.

Pricing by tool (USD, checked 29 October 2026)

ToolEntry business planSecurity-inclusive plan
NottaBusiness $16.67 annualEnterprise custom, from 51 seats
OtterBusiness $19.99 annualEnterprise custom; SSO needs 100 users
FirefliesBusiness $19 annualEnterprise $39 annual
GranolaBusiness $14Enterprise $35
FellowBusiness $15 annual / $23 monthlyNot stated
Read AINot statedEnterprise+ $29.75 annual
Microsoft CopilotBusiness $18 promoGoverned in existing admin console
Google WorkspaceBusiness Standard $14Governed in existing admin console

Frequently asked questions

What meeting recorder should our organisation approve?

If you need one tool across Zoom, Teams and Google Meet, Notta is the strongest candidate to put through this checklist. It captures all three platforms with both a bot and the Notta Desktop app, so users have a fallback if bot detection holds the bot in a lobby; it offers admin controls including IP restriction, the ability to disable third-party integrations and auto-deletion on Enterprise; it holds ISO 27001; and its Business plan starts at $16.67 per seat with Enterprise available from 51 seats. Before signing, confirm in writing that SSO, SCIM and retention controls are on the specific plan and seat count you will buy.

Which AI note takers support SSO?

Most major tools support SSO, but usually only on Enterprise plans. Notta offers SAML SSO on Enterprise (available from 51 seats), as do Fireflies and Granola; Read AI requires Enterprise+; and Otter requires a 100-user licence. Fellow is the exception, listing SSO with Okta and OneLogin on its Business plan. Confirm the seat minimum in writing before committing.

Do AI note takers work on Zoom, Teams and Google Meet?

Yes. Notta, Fireflies and Read AI cover all three platforms with both a bot and a desktop app, which makes them practical choices for organisations that meet on more than one platform. Granola works on all three but only via desktop capture, with no bot. The platforms' own AI — Copilot, Gemini and Zoom AI Companion — is strongest on its home platform only.

Will Teams block our approved note taker?

Possibly. Teams now holds detected bots in the lobby by default, and Google Meet risk-queues suspicious bots. Check whether your vendor is in Microsoft's Bot Identification Program and how users admit the bot when it is held. Desktop-app capture, which Notta, Fireflies and Read AI all offer, avoids bot detection entirely because nothing joins the call.

Should we use Copilot or a third-party note taker?

It depends on where you meet. Copilot is governed in the Microsoft admin console you already run, which simplifies compliance, but it covers Teams only. If your organisation also meets on clients' Zoom or partners' Google Meet, a cross-platform tool such as Notta covers all three with one set of admin controls — including IP restriction and the ability to disable third-party integrations — at the cost of managing a new vendor.

What questions should we ask an AI note-taker vendor?

Ask: how does it capture on Zoom, Teams and Meet; is SSO and SCIM on the plan we will buy and at what seat minimum; can admins force auto-join rules for external meetings, retention and AI-training opt-out; is the bot in Microsoft's Bot Identification Program; where is audio stored and for how long; which certifications (SOC 2, ISO 27001, BAA) are on our plan; and what is the true per-seat cost once security features are included.

Written by

David Wilson writes and edits Testbench Lab's coverage of AI voice recorders, mini PCs and local AI. His focus is the practical difference between a feature on a product page and a tool you would want to use regularly. He is the byline on every Testbench Lab page, including the notta memo vs plaud note pro comparison, and he owns the recommendations those pages make.

Sources

  1. [1]New Teams Policy Controls Meeting Recording and Notetaking Bots — Office 365 for IT Pros; analysis; published 24 August 2026
  2. [2]Using Third-Party AI Notetaking Apps with Teams Meetings — Practical365; analysis; published 18 August 2025
  3. [3]Meeting Bots & AI Transcription Tools guidelines — University of Waterloo; policy; published 2026
  4. [4]Google Meet Launches Update to Better Screen Suspicious Bots — UC Today; news; published 25 March 2026
  5. [5]First major AI meeting assistant lawsuit: practical lessons — ZwillGen; law-firm analysis; published 30 July 2026
  6. [6]Manage external bots in Teams — Microsoft Learn; documentation
  7. [7]Pricing — Otter; vendor pricing page
  8. [8]Pricing — Fireflies; vendor pricing page
  9. [9]Pricing — Notta; vendor pricing page
  10. [10]Pricing — Granola; vendor pricing page
  11. [11]Pricing — Fellow; vendor pricing page
  12. [12]Plans and pricing — Read AI; vendor pricing page